The Uncertainty of Life

It’s the uncertainty of life that causes us to question the certainty of God’s truth.

 As I sat holding one of the smallest of God’s creations in the palm of my hand, I couldn’t help but wonder how something so small could have such intricate features. What thought and detail went into creating such a tiny living thing.

A few days earlier I was convinced by my daughter that we should bring home a 5 day old kitten whose mother had abandon her in the darkest of places. The first couple of days with us proved beneficial as we nursed this little bundle back to life. It appeared as though we had rounded the corner, when things took an unexpected turn for the worst. The kitten that was full of life one day had started regressing. As my daughter sat there caressing this kitten with tears in her eyes, she began asking me repeatedly the one question I realized I would never have an answer for- “Is she going be okay?” At first I found myself saying what I wanted to be the truth, “yes, she’s going to be just fine”, “she’s just a baby, and babies sleep a lot”; but before I could speak the soothing words she wanted so desperately to hear, I begin to fumble the question as a football player fumbles the ball. Do I tell tell her what I know she want’s to hear, or do I tell her the hard truth even it brings more questions than answers?

In that moment as I watched a 15 year old girl searching for the answer from her mother that’s suppose to have all the answers, the REAL truth was impressed upon my heart to share with her what I want to share with you.

The hard truth is-we don’t know why we have to walk through hard things in life when we are following closely to God, but the REAL truth is we know we serve a God that promises us, that no matter what we go through HE is with us and will never leave us. “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:5

The hard truth is-we don’t know why a loved one gets terminally ill and dies, but the REAL truth is we know the ONE who heals or the ONE who holds us when the storms of life come unexpectedly. “ Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God.” 2 Corinthians 1:3-4

The hard truth is-we don’t know why good things happen to bad people, and why bad things happen to good people, but the REAL truth is we know who promises to work all things out for our good. “And we KNOW that in ALL things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his word.” Romans 8:28

The hard truth is-we don’t know what tomorrow holds, but the REAL truth is-we know WHO holds our tomorrow. “See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls (your lives) are ever before me.” Isaiah 49:16

Just like the kitten I held in the palm of my hand as she took her last breath-we too are held in the palm of God’s hand as we navigate life’s biggest storms and greatest victories. If God paid that much attention to the design of a small kitten, how much more attention did he pay when he designed you?

We will never have all the answers this side of heaven, but we have the only answer that remains constant and true-IMMANUEL (GOD, WITH US).

May the uncertainty of life remind us of the certainty of God’s truth!

 “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” Matthew 28:20

 

Leave a Reply

